Faculties of each participant within the 2023 WNBA Playoffs

With a report 40-game season accomplished and a race for the ultimate postseason slot determined by only a single sport, the WNBA playoffs are lastly able to begin.

Among the many 95 gamers collaborating within the eight-team playoff, all however 11 come from Division I basketball. And whereas the game’s longstanding powers actually have an outsized presence — UConn, Notre Dame, Maryland and South Carolina paved the way with 28 mixed gamers — 42 completely different faculties from 13 conferences can discover illustration on the WNBA hardwood these playoffs. 

Right here’s a have a look at each college for every of the 84 Division I alumni competing within the 2023 WNBA Playoffs:

UConn 9
  • Breanna Stewart, Stefanie Dolson (New York)
  • Tiffany Hayes, Olivia Nelson-Ododa (Connecticut)
  • Lou Lopez Sénéchal, Crystal Dangerfield (Dallas)
  • Dorka Juhász, Napheesa Collier (Minnesota)
  • Kiah Stokes (Las Vegas)
Notre Dame 7
  • Natalie Achonwa, Lindsay Allen, Kayla McBride, Jessica Shepard (Minnesota)
  • Marina Mabrey (Chicago)
  • Arike Ogunbowale (Dallas)
  • Jackie Younger (Las Vegas)
Maryland 6
  • Kristi Toliver, Shatori Walker-Kimbrough, Tianna Hawkins (Washington)
  • Brionna Jones, Alyssa Thomas (Connecticut)
  • Diamond Miller (Minnesota)
South Carolina 6
  • Laeticia Amihere, Allisha Grey (Atlanta)
  • Alaina Coates, A’ja Wilson (Las Vegas)
  • Tyasha Harris (Connecticut)
  • Tiffany Mitchell (Minnesota)
Baylor 4
  • Kalani Brown, Odyssey Sims (Dallas)
  • DiJonai Carrington (Connecitcut)
  • Queen Egbo (Washington)
Oregon 4
  • Nyara Sabally, Sabrina Ionescu (New York)
  • Ruthy Hebard (Chicago)
  • Satou Sabally (Dallas)
Louisville 3
  • Myisha Hines-Allen, AD Durr (Atlanta)
  • Dana Evans (Chicago)
Tennessee 3
  • Candace Parker (Las Vegas)
  • Isabelle Harrison (Chicago)
  • Diamond DeShields (Dallas)
Duke 2
  • Elizabeth Williams (Chicago)
  • Chelsea Grey (Las Vegas)
Michigan 2
  • Leigha Brown (Connecticut)
  • Naz Hillmon (Atlanta)
Northwestern 2
  • Veronica Burton (Dallas)
  • Nia Coffey (Atlanta)
Rutgers 2
  • Kahleah Copper (Chicago)
  • Betnijah Laney (New York)
Center Tennessee 2
  • Alysha Clark (Las Vegas)
  • Cheyenne Parker (Atlanta)
Stanford 2
  • Alanna Smith (Chicago)
  • Haley Jones (Atlanta)
  • Rebekah Gardner, Monique Billings (Atlanta)
George Washington 1
St. Joseph’s 1
  • Natasha Cloud (Washington)
South Florida 1
  • Courtney Williams (Chicago)
Florida State 1
Miami 1
  • Riquna Williams (Las Vegas)
Syracuse 1
  • Brittney Sykes (Washington)
Virginia Tech 1
Virginia 1
  • Jocelyn Willoughby (New York)
Florida Gulf Coast 1
  • Kierstan Bell (Las Vegas)
Iowa State 1
  • Bridget Carleton (Minnesota)
Oklahoma 1
  • Danielle Robinson (Atlanta)
Texas 1
  • Ariel Atkins (Washington)
Marquette 1
  • Natisha Hiedeman (Connecticut)
Villanova 1
Michigan State 1
  • Aerial Powers (Minnesota)
Minnesota 1
  • Rachel Banham (Minnesota)
UC-Davis 1
Delaware 1
  • Elena Delle Donne (Washington)
  • Kayla Thornton (New York)
Arizona 1
Auburn 1
  • DeWanna Bonner (Connecticut)
Kentucky 1
Mississippi State 1
Ole Miss 1
  • Shakira Austin (Washington)
Texas A&M 1
  • Sydney Colson (Las Vegas)
Gonzaga 1
  • Courtney Vandersloot (New York)
Washington 1

As you possibly can see, quite a few former faculty teammates have reunited to share the court docket collectively on the skilled degree. 4 former Preventing Irish (Natalie Achonwa, Lindsay Allen, Kayla McBride and Jessica Shepard) have remained within the Midwest to play for the Minnesota Lynx, whereas a triad of ex-Terrapins (Kristi Toliver, Shatori Walker-Kimbrough, Tianna Hawkins) opted to take the Inexperienced Line into the District from School Park and play for the Washington Mystics. 

The WNBA Playoffs additionally function a notable worldwide contingent, with 19 foreign-born gamers hailing largely from North America and Europe set to compete within the 2023 postseason. 

This is a have a look at the nation of origin for every worldwide participant within the WNBA Playoffs.

Nation Quantity Gamers
Canada 3 Bridget Carleton, Natalie Achonwa, Laeticia Amihere
Australia 3 Alanna Smith, Cayla George, Rebecca Allen
China 2 Han Xu, Li Meng
France 2 Marine Johannès, Iliana Rupert
Hungary 2 Dorka Juhász, Bernadett Hatar
Mexico 1 Lou Lopez Sénéchal
Germany 1 Nyara Sabally
Bahamas 1 Jonquel Jones
Spain 1 Sika Koné
United Kingdom 1 Elizabeth Williams
Bosnia 1 Nikolina Milic
Finland 1 Awak Kuier

Faculties with most gamers within the Naismith Basketball Corridor of Fame

UCLA leads all faculties with seven basketball gamers within the Naismith Memorial Basketball Corridor of Fame.


2024 March Insanity: Ladies’s NCAA event schedule, dates, instances

The schedule for March Insanity 2024, which begins with choices for the ladies’s event on Sunday, March 17.


NCAA pronounces creation of Ladies’s Basketball Invitation Match

The NCAA has introduced the creation of the Ladies’s Basketball Invitational Match, a 32-team post-season occasion that might be held yearly starting 2024.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *